Reading Challenge Review – ‘The Warehouse’ *spoiler-free*

I’m very excited to get into this review so I’m going to keep this intro short!

Sorry about this review being late! I’m currently on holiday and there’s no WiFi/service😢 Therefore my posts may be a little late till Monday! See u then🥰💛

I got this book off Netgalley (it’s my first approval guys☺️) in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are alllll mine.

So without further ado, let’s get into this review of ‘The Warehouse’ by Rob Hart.


I can’t wait till the end of the review to tell you guys that I loved this book. I loved it. I could talk about this book forever but I don’t want to spoil anything, therefore I will keep it short & sweet (kinda).

Here’s a list of reasons as to why I loved this book

  • The premise and message is creative and clever yet very, very real

First things first, let’s talk about the premise of this book. The book is about an all-consuming corporate company called Cloud. In this world you can work for Cloud (after a rigorous interview period) in one of their live-work facilities. Once inside it’s like a dream, especially compared to what’s happening outside in a climate change-ravaged America. The book explores the themes of cruel climate change and corporate companies controlling mankind, sound familiar? Yet, nobody finds this interesting when you tell it to them straight. Therefore, Hart uses hyperbole to make people pay attention and show you that things can get real bad, real quick. Similarly, like George Orwell does in his works such as 1984 and Animal Farm. I love books that do this. Books where you start off thinking “Wow, this is a cool concept, I wonder what that’s like” then end up with “Holy shit, that’s my life” Hart takes an important message, puts it in an environment which allows you to disconnect from it (so you’ll listen), then shoves it down your throat until it comes out your eyes and you see it for what it is, in all it’s glory.

  • The attention to detail is insane

World-building within a book is hard and takes a lot of attention to detail. However, to build something new and crazy and then incorporate that into the world we already live in, that’s really bloody hard. In your own world you make anything canon. But when you’re playing around with the world as everyone already knows it, it needs to be believable and realistic and one thing that makes that so is the attention to detail. Hart does this perfectly and effortlessly. The detail is what makes this book as good as it is. Everything about the Cloud as well as the plot. The detail shines through. 

  • The variety of characters

The book is told through 3 different narratives; Paxton, Zinnia and Gibson. These three characters are very different personalities and Hart manages to make these personalities shine through the words. I like switching narratives in books as it lends differing perspectives which only add depth to the story. The characters offer exactly what is needed from them to boost the story, nothing more, nothing less. After reading, I miss Zinnia & Paxton, that’s good character writing.


 

I could go on forever about all the points that led to me loving this book but overall these are the top 3.

  • Message
  • Detail
  • Characters

Everything was done with such care and it really made for an endearing, enjoyable experience. Overall, this story was clever, creative and consisted of a crucial lesson.

One thing which could possibly be seen as a con is the ending. The climax got a little bit confusing and you really had to keep up to get it. It’s heavily hinted that there could be a sequel so, that would excuse the kinda vague ending.

I recommend this book to fans of Hunger Games, Divergent and Ready Player One. Dystopian futures with themes of an all- consuming ruling power.

Sorry if this a bit long but I had a lot to say! This book really exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait for another eARC to review!


Thank you for reading, have you read this book? Requested it on Netgalley? Let me know!

love, bella x

 

2 thoughts on “Reading Challenge Review – ‘The Warehouse’ *spoiler-free*

Leave a comment