Mid-Year Freak Out Tag! |it basically became an illuminae fan post, I’m sorry |

Hello! I wasn’t sure when to post this but I thought it would be best to post this after my June Wrap Up! I want to say a big thank you to Brittany @ brittanythebookguru for tagging me in this! Everyone should go check out her blog because she posts amazing things and puts so much effort into her posts, go show her some love!💛

Welcome to my Mid-Year Freak Out Tag, I hope you enjoy!


BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2019

Image result for illuminae

‘Illuminae’ by Amie Kristoff & Jay Kristoff is by far the best book that I have read in 2019. It has easily become my favourite book of all time! If you haven’t read this book I compel you to do it now!

BEST SEQUEL OF 2019 SO FAR?

Image result for illuminae

It’s only right to say my current read which is the sequel to Illuminae, Gemina. I am LOVING it so far and can’t wait to see how it ends!

NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO?

Image result for aurora rising

Aurora Rising, without a doubt. I only recently worked out it was by the same people as who wrote the Illuminae files (why is this just turning into an illuminae fangirl post?) and as soon as I realised and knew that I needed to read it ASAP.

MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE OF THE SECOND HALF OF 2019?

Image result for the starless sea

The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern 100%. When I read The Night Circus I was blown away by Morgensterns talent and loved everything about the beautiful world she had created so I already know this is going to become one of my favourites.

BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT?

Image result for release patrick ness

Release by Patrick Ness. It just didn’t hit it for me😢

BIGGEST SURPRISE?

ILLUMINAE (I’m sorry I’m in love with this book, let me live)

FAVOURITE NEW (TO ME) AUTHOR?

Image result for amie kaufman and jay kristoff

Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff (IM SORRY) I’m in the works to read everything they both have ever written!

NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH?

Ezra & Kady from (are you ready for it?) ILLUMINAE! I fancied them both equally and would happily crush on any one of them! Suppose that’s what makes me bi!

BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY?

I don’t think any books have made me cry this year yet! Maybe I’m just cold-hearted!

BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY?

*tries not to say illuminae* erm….*struggling to keep it inside*…..ILLUMINAE

FAVOURITE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR?

I have only watched the one I think, Ready Player One. Which will get it’s very own special post🤨

FAVOURITE REVIEW YOU’VE WRITTEN THIS YEAR?

My review of Illuminae. It was the most passionate I’ve been about a book in a long time (as you can probably tell from this post) go check it out here!

MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT OR RECEIVED SO FAR THIS YEAR?

Image result for warcross hardback

I got Warcross from the library and the hardback edition is so, so beautiful! I’m very excited to read it!

WHAT BOOKS DO YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR?

Too many to list?!


Thank you for reading this post which I’m very sorry about just turning into an Illuminae fan post! Thanks again to Brittany for tagging me!🥰

I won’t be tagging anyone today but if you want to do this tag then please feel free!

Till next time,

love, bella x

8 thoughts on “Mid-Year Freak Out Tag! |it basically became an illuminae fan post, I’m sorry |

  1. I ADORED Illuminae but was very disappointed by Gemina…It kept me from reading Obsidio and Aurora Rising but everyone raves about them so I might give them a try again 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh really! It is very different as in plot line but I loved the changes! I’m currently reading Obsidio and it’s taking me a while to get into it but I’m very hopeful and I can’t wait to read Aurora Rising!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I guess I did not expect the change and thought it would pick up where Illuminae left. But I still like the “writing style” with all the documents, transcripts etc. It’s soo unique and I kind of miss it! I’ll wait for your opinion on Obsidio 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Same tho! I was so surprised when it was a completely different set of characters! And ugh my god I love it, it makes the story so inclusive in such a wonderful way! And yay! I hope I like it🤩

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment